Labyrinth Spider on Crook Peak

At this time of the year, the funnel webs are all over the south side of the Mendip. Labyrinths are a dull grey-brown colour so they go largely unnoticed. It’s only when they start building their webs that they draw attention to themselves, especially early in the morning with the dew still on them.

Click on the image to view full size

I happened upon this one quite by accident as I walked off Crook Peak towards Compton Bishop. Normally the first sight of a camera lens sends the spider off down the spiralling labyrinth to protect it’s eggs but this one was prepared to stand her ground. Once she realised that I wasn’t a threat she would return to the narrow opening at the base of the funnel to wait for fresh prey, so I didn’t have a lot of time to set up the shot. Apart from photographing snails when is there much time?

Author: Hares on the Hill

I am a designer and photographer. I live with my wife and our two dogs in the Welsh Marches, a land full of history, legends, mountains, rivers and dragon's breath; a place where animism thrives. To our north are the Cambrian Mountains, the Elenydd, a vast plateau so ancient that its mountains now have the appearance of steeply rounded moorland hills; to the east is England; to the south stand the Black Mountains and in the west the Brecon Beacons rise around the twin summits of Pen y Fan and Corn Du, the highest mountain in West Wales.

2 thoughts on “Labyrinth Spider on Crook Peak”

  1. Thank’s for your comment James. I just happened to be in the right place with the right lens on my camera. It was my wife Gyll who spotted the spider and called me back. It had just stopped raining and as I got down to the web the sun came out briefly, so many things contributed to the photograph. I’m pleased that you liked it.

Leave a Reply

